True Mercy

Image

mer·cy

noun \ˈmər-sē\

: kind or forgiving treatment of someone who could be treated harshly : kindness or help given to people who are in a very bad or desperate situation

: a good or lucky fact or situation

This is the webster dictionary definition of mercy. To be kind and forgiving to someone that could be treated harshly. To be kind to someone in a hard situation. Most of us think of it as forgiving and sparring someone for doing something wrong. I know I have prayed for mercy for my dad, so the lord won’t punish him for his sins. As a son, friend, and brother I never want to see the people I love get hurt. So I pray for forgiveness and mercy when my loved ones do something wrong. However is this true mercy?

When I pray for their mercy, and delaying punishment am I truly doing what’s best for them? Mercy isn’t being kind to someone or forgiving them, it’s doing what is best for them. If I truly wanted mercy I would pray that the lord punish my dad right now. Strike him down, and make him see his own mistakes. When I pray for punishment the lord delivers his justice, and thus delivers his grace and mercy. He punishes you do you can grow into a better person. When you don’t correct a child’s behavior they won’t think anything is wrong with it, and keep doing the wrong thing. Truly loving someone means you are able to do what’s best for them even if they have to go through a season of suffering. Wouldn’t you rather have the Lord punish your loved ones on earth, where they still have time to correct their mistakes then having them go to hell?

Withhold not correction from the child: for if thou beatest him with the rod, he shall not die. Proverbs 23:13

When this concept was first introduced to me I struggled with it. I knew it was perverse mercy, but I still didn’t want my loved ones to get hurt. I knew that a cousin was manipulative, a aunt was practicing witchcraft, or my brother was on drugs but I didn’t want them to get punished by the lord. I made excuses for them, oh he needs to manipulate because it’s a form of personal defense, she practices witchcraft because she doesn’t know any better, and he’s only doing drugs because he’s having a hard time. It’s not their fault, they will change slowly so Lord don’t punish them too harshly. But now I see that all I was doing was hurting my family members. I wasn’t praying for their protection, I was praying against them. I was praying for my cousin to keep engulfing himself in lies, my aunt to keep losing herself in evil, and my brother to drown himself in poison. My prayers should be Lord please reveal my cousin’s lies, tear him down and rebuild him on truth, please strike down my aunt for her evil, and instead gift her with your spiritual presence, please cast a light on my brothers shame, and get him buzzed on the holy spirit instead of the devil’s intoxication.

Leave a Reply

